Book Review – Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck

3 Feb

WOW is the word that comes to mind. I really liked this book.

The last thing Kelsey Hayes thought she’d be doing this summer was trying to break a 300-year old Indian curse. With a mysterious white tiger named Ren. Halfway around the world.

But that’s exactly what happened.

Face-to-face with dark forces, spellbinding magic, and mystical worlds where nothing is what it seems, Kelsey risks everything to piece together an ancient prophecy that could break the curse forever.

All my love goes out to this book. I thought the story itself, plot, setting, characters, etc were really good. There was action in this book that would appeal to a lot of people.

I saw reviews comparing this to Twilight and I have to say that I did not like it as much as I liked Twilight at the time. What I mean is, the first time I read Twilight I loved it, and comparing that first thought to Tiger’s Curse’s first thought, I would say Twilight was better. But this isn’t, to me, supposed to be a new twilight. The idea behind the story was different, lots of things were different. The author herself compared it to Twilight,and I don’t think that’s fair because they are two pretty different books. Now, were there similarities? Sure. But only simple ones. Ones that any YA paranormal romance book would have. Stop comparing it to Twilight, please. It isn’t the same.

One of the only things I disliked was that the main character and the guy love interest discovered their love pretty early and easily, but they didn’t get any time to wallow in their romantic happiness. They were never officially together because she kept getting mad at him from the beginning. I would like it very much if I could’ve seen them together. She pushed him away before things happened, which didn’t produce the heart-wrenching feelings Colleen Houck was trying to produce.

My last complaint is that the writing was, as I say often, shallow. But I got over this because of the developed characters and the fabulous plot.

This story was good because it was believable and it had everything; action, adventure, romance.

Read it!!

5/5

PS: The Tiger’s Curse is going to be a series, and the author wrote the ending specifically to set this up. I didn’t really like the ending but I thought it was unique.

PPS: The cover is really pretty.

The second book is called Tiger’s Quest, and it comes out in June 2011.

Thanks for reading! Comment!

Ashlie

Leave a Reply

