Book Review – Dead Beautiful by Yvonne Woon

7 Jan

 

Well, it had to come eventually…. My first negative review.

On the morning of her sixteenth birthday, Renée Winters was still an ordinary girl. She spent her summers at the beach, had the perfect best friend, and had just started dating the cutest guy at school. No one she’d ever known had died. But all that changes when she finds her parents dead in the Redwood Forest, in what appears to be a strange double murder.

After the funeral Renée’s wealthy grandfather sends her to Gottfried Academy, a remote and mysterious boarding school in Maine, where she finds herself studying subjects like Philosophy, Latin, and the “Crude Sciences.”

It’s there that she meets Dante Berlin, a handsome and elusive boy to whom she feels inexplicably drawn. As they grow closer, unexplainable things begin to happen, but Renée can’t stop herself from falling in love. It’s only when she discovers a dark tragedy in Gottfried’s past that she begins to wonder if the Academy is everything it seems.

Little does she know, Dante is the one hiding a dangerous secret, one that has him fearing for her life.


May contain spoilers…………

I reallyyyyy did not like this book. I saw a couple of reviews that raved about it, saying they gave it 4/5 stars and that they want a sequel.

To those people I say, What?!?

I had a whole list of the things wrong with this book, but I unfortunately didn’t write them down, so I’ll just go over what I remember.

First of all, it’s a twilight wannabe. I read the beginning and I came upon a part that sounded VERY twilight to me, but I just said whatever and kept going. But then, I found this part…

EXCERPT FROM PAGE 385, DEAD BEAUTIFUL. This does not belong to me, I am just typing an excerpt from Dead Beautiful, written by Yvonne Woon.

“‘How old are you?” I asked, leaning against the trunk of a giant oak.

Dante played with a lock of my hair. “Seventeen.”

I looked up at him. “How old are you really?'”

Am I right?!? Total twilight rip!

It’s written by a young person, and, in my experience, they don’t write really well. Okay, yes, I am a young person. But I think I am no exception, so I can say that kinda stuff.

She writes it simply, with boring, semi-excruciating dialogue and shallow characters. The title is DEAD beautiful, so you can pretty much assume it’s about death in some way. But the character doesn’t find out about anything until like page 350, and there are 450 pages in all. It took her forever to get to the point, which made the story go on and on.

I actually have no good things to say about this book, so I’ll end the review here. I give it 1/5 stars. The 1 is for effort….

Ashlie

Thanks for reading! Sorry it was harsh!!

Leave a comment about what you think/thought of this book! I’m happy to hear all opinions!

Leave a Reply

