Book Review – Rhymes with Cupid by Anna Humphrey

3 Jan

Rhymes with Cupid

I bought this book because I wasn’t looking for a very complex book. I wanted a simple book that I could read quickly and enjoy. This book was perfect for that. It was believable and the writing was not bad. Heres the summary…

Goodman’s Gifts & Stationery Store

February 14
Cashier: Elyse

3 boxes of heart-shaped chocolate . . . $12.00

Chocolate is the only good thing about this nauseating holiday.

4 containers of candy hearts . . . $5.00

Ever since my ex cheated on me, I’ve sworn off love. Too bad my new neighbor Patrick didn’t get the memo.

1 Valentine’s Day card . . . $4.50

I’m not interested. Although, he is pretty cute. And sweet. And funny.

1 singing Cupid doll (promotional item) . . . $0.00

Stupid Cupid! Point your arrows at someone else. . . .

Subtotal . . . $21.50

It’s going to be a complicated Valentine’s Day.

The back doesn’t exactly describe what it’s going to be about so I’ll do my best to summarize in my own words, without spoilers!

Elyse refuses to date because her old boyfriend cheated on her with her best friend. She moves with her mom to a different part of town, eager to change schools and forget the incident. She works at a store and a guy walks in, her later turns out to be her neighbor. Events happen. Will she find love with a guy who isn’t a jerk? Read and find out!

I feel like I revealed some spoilers. Oh well…

So it sounds stereotypical, and it kind-of is, but it’s not that bad. The character wasn’t shallow like in a lot of books I read, which is a really good thing. She wasn’t stupid. It seemed like she was actually trying not to like the guy (which is the main idea of this book), unlike other stories where the goal is to not fall in love and they “try really hard” not too. I don’t know if that makes sense. What I’m trying to say is, the character herself was believable and she did believable things.

This book gets a 3.5/5 from me. It was a simple, easy-to-read book, and I would read it again if I was looking for short and sweet.

Thanks for reading!

Questions and comments are welcome! In fact, I await them eagerly…



Ashlie

PS- I haven’t written for awhile. For that, I say
tee-hee!

Leave a Reply

