Book Review- Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

10 Dec

Alright, alright, I know I promised to post on the weekend. I was gonna do it! But then, I said to myself “I’ll do it later.” a buncha times and well, now it’s Friday.

But now I am bored and sitting in the library so I have about 20 minutes to write the review you have all (don’t deny) anticipated. So here we go, my review of Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles.

PS- I was gonna make this a review of the whole Perfect Chemistry series but I decided not to. Let me know if you want my opinion on the second, though, cuz I’ve read it!

4/5 Stars

So I’m just gonna start out by saying, this is a very suckish book cover. I would never have picked this book to read, just because of the cover picture. I mean come on!! It’s pretty embarrassing! I would have to advise you, though, not to judge this book by its cover. Okay so, not necessarily. You can tell a lot of things about the book by looking at the cover. For example, you can tell that it’s gonna be a love story. But it isn’t as mushy as the cover makes it seem. What I am trying to say, though, is don’t only judge this book by its cover. Because of the reasons listed above.

And it’s not only the first book in the series that has a wack cover. The other two do too! What the heck Simone?!? Or her publisher, I guess.

Alright, I’m rambling. I’ll start my content review now…

Perfect Chemistry is the first book in the Perfect Chemistry series. Here’s the summary for it…

When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created “perfect” life is about to unravel before her eyes. She’s forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she’s worked so hard for—her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect. Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more.

I thought this book was really good. I don’t like a lot of books (you guys are saying, “WHATEVER! You’re last reviews were ones you liked too!” and to that I say, Yes, but I only review books that are worth reviewing.”) and I actually enjoyed this. I was worried that the characters would be really shallow (especially Brittany, who is supposed to be) but they weren’t. They were believable.

It has violence and sexuality so avoid the book if you don’t want any of that. I just skipped over some graphic parts (only one major sexual part. And it’s about a gang member so violence is to be expected.)

So, yes, I liked it. Enough to run out and buy the second book right away.

The last book in the series is called Chain Reaction and is coming out in Spring of 2011.

Thanks for reading! Please comment!! If you want more words from me about this book, let me know and I’ll let you know.

Ashlie

One Response to “Book Review- Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles”

  1. Darlyn December 16, 2010 at 12:05 am #

    I completely agree about the cover. When it comes to most YA books, the cover is usually amazing, but the writing? Not so great. Perfect Chemistry was the complete opposite. Great writing, bad cover.

Leave a Reply

