One… Two… Three…

5 Dec

Ashlie and I went and saw Tangled yesterday (good movie go see it, but we did have one horrific experience I’ll let her tell you about. She enjoys it more) and I spent most of my pre-movie time chatting and, in the back of my mind thinking about my new story idea and some of my old story ideas…

I’m ALWAYS coming up with new books to write. Like the rest of the world, I dump most of them, or let them fester, unwritten, at the back of my mind, pulled out and dusted off when I’m at my most bored.

But I’ve had this one story that I work pretty much all the time, since I came up with it… A year ago? A year and a half? I dunno, the point is it’s been a long time.

And then there’s my NaNoWriMo project (I made it to 20,000 words, btw), which I can’t just abandon! Thea needs me! …And I’d feel guilty, because I picked it because I thought I could see it through to the end, so if I can’t then, that’s just a fail.

And now (you saw this coming, didn’t you?) I have another book I REALLY want to write.

It’s kind of a future-y setting, where the economic gap between rich and poor is crazy huge, and it follows the lives (and for some, the deaths) of a group of poor kids, who’ve all been abandoned by their self-preserving parents, or had their families killed by desperate thieves, but manage to stay alive. And I really like it because it would be sweet (like ‘aww’ not ‘YEAH, SWEET!’) and a bit (a lot) tragic, which I think we don’t get enough of nowadays with all of the happy-endings-against-all-odds.

But I don’t know if I should dedicate myself to one project at a time (and if so, in what order?) or continue to juggle (which at least keeps me entertained).

But, because I’m me and I at least know this about myself, I’m probably going to continue juggling books and ideas. If only because I don’t feel like changing my ways for something as stupid as logic.

~Kristine

2 Responses to “One… Two… Three…”

  1. Ashlie December 5, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    I think you should definitely choose one main thing to focus your thoughts on. It’s alright to have side projects but you can’t keep flippin stories or you’ll never finish any! You’ll just have a bunch of failed writing attempts!

  2. Ashlie December 5, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    PS- I’ll make a post about our horrifying experience later. The suspense will make it more exciting…

Leave a Reply

