Book Review/Rave – Heist Society by Ally Carter

15 Nov

5/5 Stars

What do I say besides LOVED IT?!?

People who know me, know that I rarely find any books I like. Let alone love.

This book was wonderful to me. I had gotten it from the library, and when I finished it, I went online to purchase it right away. And then I insisted that I must keep the library version until the bought one shows up.

So, click read more and you’ll see a book summary and more of my thoughts… which are love. But you knew that….

When Katarina Bishop was three, her parents took her to the Louvre…to case it. For her seventh birthday,  and her Uncle Eddie traveled to Austria…to steal the crown jewels. When Kat turned fifteen, she planned a con of her own–scamming her way into the best boarding school in the country, determined to leave the family business behind. Unfortunately, leaving “the life” for a normal life proves harder than she’d expected.

Soon, Kat’s friend and former co-conspirator, Hale, appears out of nowhere to bring her back into the world she tried so hard to escape. But he has good reason: a powerful mobster’s art collection has been stolen, and he wants it returned. Only a master thief could have pulled this job, and Kat’s father isn’t juston the suspect list, he is the list. Caught between Interpol and a far more deadly enemy, Kat’s dad needs her help.

For Kat there is only one solution: track down the paintings and steal them back. So what if it’s a spectacularly impossible job? She’s got two weeks, a teenage crew, and hopefully just enough talent to pull off the biggest heist in her family’s (very crooked) history–and, with any luck, steal her life back along the way.

It had a good mix of everything; teenage thieves (but there was a maturity), kick-butt characters, and some romance.

I liked the book right off the bat, and after reading this, I decided to give her other books a chance. I am happy to say that I love them (a series, Gallagher Girls) just as much as Heist Society. I didn’t like the first one in that series, but the last 3 were excellent. I will definitely keep my eyes open for any other books she writes in the future. I am ready to call her one of my favorite authors.

This is going to be a part of a series.The second will be out in June. The name of it has been released, but in code. Go to Ally Carter’s blog and you’ll see the code. You need to figure out how to crack it, which I have already done :).

So, READ THIS BOOK! If you like the synopsis, you’ll like the book. But I didn’t like the synopsis much, and loved the book, so whatever.  Give it a chance, try getting it from the library, or read a sample on a major booksellers website.

Thanks for reading!

Post comments and question below! And, let me know what you think/thought of this book!

Ashlie

3 Responses to “Book Review/Rave – Heist Society by Ally Carter”

  1. thereadingdate November 15, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

    I loved this book too! I’ve been curious to read Ally Carter’s other books so I’m glad to hear your recommendation for the Gallagher Girls series. Happy reading!

  2. Ashlie November 15, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    You definitely should read Gallagher Girls if you liked Heist Society! Don’t give up on the series because of the 1st book. The 2nd, 3rd, and 4th are very good, and are pretty different than the 1st. 2-4 were more spy-ish than the first… Thanks for posting a comment!

  3. missprint November 18, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

    Great review. Glad to hear the Gallagher Girls books are also awesome, can’t wait to read them too!

Leave a Reply

