Milestones Can Weigh You Down

6 Nov

When you’re writing a book as a challenge, as a goal and you put a number on that goal (aka 50,000 words), the number can be hard to treat as anything seperate from the goal.

Does that make any sense at all?

What I’m trying to say is that I’m going for 50,000 words and that seems ENORMOUS. So I thought to myself ‘well, I’ll just divide it into 10,000s! And, of course, halves. It’ll work great!’

And it did, I guess. Until I hit my first 10,000.

It’s the second most words I’ve ever had for anything and I wrote them in record time. But at about 8,500, it became about the word count. ‘I’ve gotta make it to 10,000. I’ve GOTTA make it to 10,000!’

And then I hit 10,000. And in four days since then, I’ve only written another 1,500.

Houston, we have a problem.

At the moment, I’m hoping that I can force myself out of this mini-writer’s-block-funk (did you know if you hyphenate two words they only count as one word?) and be done with this whole word-count-getting-in-the-way-of-my-story (obviously, that creates a problem for me) thing.

We’ll see how it goes. Fingers and toes crossed.

~Kristine

Leave a Reply

