Book Review – The Juliet Club by Suzanne Harper

6 Nov

3/5 Stars

Hello all!

I ordered this book like 2 weeks ago and it has FINALLY gotten here! I finished it awhile ago and decided I should do a review for you guys! So, I’ll start you off with the book summary first…

“Kate Sanderson has been burned by love. From now on, she thinks, I will control my own destiny, and I will be reasoned and rational. But life has other things in store for  Kate. Namely, a summer abroad studying Shakespeare’s “Romeo and Juliet” in the very  town where the star-crossed lovers met, Verona, Italy. Kate is thrown together with two other  American teens and three Italians for a special seminar–and for volunteer duty at the  Juliet Club, where they answer letters from the lovelorn around the world. Can Kate’s  cool logic withstand the most romantic summer ever? Especially when faced with the  ever-so-charming Giacomo and his entrancing eyes . . . ?”

Okay, so the main reason I bought this book was because of the movie “Letters to Juliet”.  Now, I have to make this very VERY clear, “The Juliet Club” by Suzanne Harper and “Letters to Juliet” are not the same story! So do not think that, because I am comparing the two, they are related. They are both similar because they feature the topic of the Club di Giulietta, but this book was more about Shakespeare than the movie.

“The Juliet Club” is about a girl who wins an essay contest and gets to study Shakespeare in Verona. She doesn’t believe in love, which is ironic because she’s going to the city of love.

The writing of this book was hard for me to adjust to because she switches points of views every once in a while. Sometimes it was hard for me to keep track of who was talking. I caught on quickly enough, though, and I found myself enjoying the switching views.

All-in-all, I thought the story was pretty good. Thinking back on it, the word that comes to mind is “cute”. I would say, if you like the Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet theme, you’ll appreciate the book.

If you want to sample the book before committing, like I did, find a sample on a major book sellers website.

Thanks for reading!

If you have any questions, write a comment and I’ll get back to you!

Ashlie

Leave a Reply

